You are here

Zachary Stanton

Zachary Stanton, lecturer
Office: Phone:
Area: High Resolution Photo:

Zack Stanton is a composer and conductor from Conway, Arkansas. He has written for orchestra, wind ensemble, choir, and chamber ensembles of various sizes, and his work has been increasingly performed throughout the United States, as well as Ireland and South Korea.

Zack has been awarded first prize in the International Horn Society Composition Contest (winner of Virtuoso Division for Trio for Horn, Viola, and Harp) and in the Sanibel-Captiva Trust Prize in Choral Composition (for Before You Kissed Me). His Concerto for Piano and Wind Ensemble received Honorable Mention in the ASCAP/CBDNA Frederick Fennell Competition. Zack’s orchestral works have been performed by the Conway Symphony Orchestra, the University of Texas Symphony Orchestra, and the Austin Symphony Orchestra. Recent commissions have come from Courtney Miller (oboe), Benjamin Coelho (bassoon), Jesse Cook (trumpet), Anne-Marie Cherry (horn), Matthew Teodori (percussion), the University of Georgia, the Millikin University Percussion Ensemble, and line upon line percussion.

Active as a performer, Zack served as a pianist and conductor for the University of Texas New Music Ensemble and for four years acted as the Assistant Director of the group. Currently, he assists with the Center for New Music at the University of Iowa, where he is Lecturer of Music Theory and Composition.

Zack received his Doctor of Musical Arts in composition from the University of Texas at Austin. He is currently Lecturer of Composition and Theory at the University of Iowa. Prior to his appointment at the University of Iowa, Zack taught at Belmont University and the University of Texas at Austin.